山登绝顶我为峰

《佃农理论》是四十多年前发表的了,之后那么多年我有其它作品超越《佃农》的水平吗?很难说。巴赛尔及几位朋友认为《价格管制理论》胜出,但那是三十五年前的作品了。我认为三卷本的《经济解释》及去年的《中国的经济制度》胜出,同意的人可能不多。科学的顶峰真的摸不着,无从界定。我觉得自己的经济文章愈来愈随意,愈来愈变化多,愈来愈像二百多年前的史密斯。今天以中文下笔,只凭一点灵感,直觉认为是对,逻辑复核一下,向有趣的地方推呀推的,但规格再不严谨了。世事多知了不少,挥洒远为容易。多活了数十年,经验累积是无可避免的吧。」

This article by Professor Cheung has brought up two discussable issues.

1.  Among all his works, which is the best?

I personally would vote for ‘The Fable of the Bees’: a paper with much originality and supported by solid empirical data

2.  The style is getting closer to Adam Smith

One major strength of Smith’s work is the evidenced based approach.  I would argue that Professor Cheung’s articles in recent years are often short of evidence, despite that the creativity still exists.

One Response to 山登绝顶我为峰

  1. […] A reply to Wallace’s 山登绝顶我为峰 Here is my reply to Wallace’s 山登绝顶我为峰 blog entry, […]

